‘Orange is the New Black,’ ‘Fargo,’ ‘Archer’ and More Take Home Critics Choice Awards

Fargo and Orange is the New Black were the toast of the TV world at last night’s Critics’ Choice Television Awards, scooping three prizes each.

The small screen revamp of the Oscar-winning crime film won the prize for Best Mini-Series, while its stars Billy Bob Thornton and Allison Tolman were named Best Actor in a Movie or Mini-Series and Best Supporting Actress in a Movie or Mini-Series, respectively.

Netflix’s hit women’s prison series was named Best Comedy Series at the ceremony in Beverly Hills, California, and Uzo Aduba earned the Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series award, while her co-star Kate Mulgrew, tied for Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series with Mom‘s Allison Janney.

Janney also picked up Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series for her recurring role in Masters of Sex.

Upon receiving the trophy for Mom, Janney quipped, “Well this is the climax of my career. This is extraordinary. This has been an amazing year for me.”

The Big Bang Theory‘s Jim Parsons was named Best Actor in a Comedy Series and Veep star Julia Louis-Dreyfus landed Best Actress in a Comedy Series, while Andre Braugher took the Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for police program Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

In the drama categories, Breaking Bad won Best Drama Series for a second consecutive year, and Aaron Paul picked up Best Supporting Actor for his role in the popular show.

Also earning a back-to-back Best Actress win was Tatiana Maslany, who repeated her 2013 triumph for her multiple clone roles in sci-fi show Orphan Black.

Adding to his Oscar win earlier this year, Matthew McConaughey went home with the Best Actor honor for True Detective, while Bellamy Young earned Best Supporting Actress as the scheming First Lady on Scandal.

It was also a big night for TV titan Ryan Murphy, whose thriller American Horror Story: Coven earned Jessica Lange the Best Actress in a Movie or Mini-Series accolade, while his AIDS drama The Normal Heart won two prizes, including Best Movie or Miniseries, and Best Supporting Actor in a Movie or Mini-Series for Matt Bomer.

In addition, Jim Parsons presented his The Normal Heart director with the Louis XIII Genius Award in recognition of his contribution to television. Upon accepting the honor, Murphy recalled the slew of online criticism he received following the announcement of the award, and admitted he tried to back out as a result.

He also shared a piece of advice, telling the audience, “The one genius rule I have made in my career is to surround yourself by people more talented than you and then take all the credit. The last part is actually not true.”


Finally a HUGE congrats to the Archer cast and production crew, as the show took home another Critics Choice Award and Aisha Tyler gave an impressive speech thanking none other than Kanye West, according to Zap2It:

First off, we’d like to thank Yeezus,” Tyler said. “Not Jesus, but Kanye West for making us feel so much better about our own soul crushing narcissism. Chris Parnell actually stared into the mirror for over two hours today without feeling any guilt whatsoever, so thank you for the beautiful, beautiful gift, Kanye.”

The awards show was hosted by Cedric the Entertainer and presenters included Colin Hanks, Angie Harmon, Diane Kruger, Sarah Silverman, Christina Applegate and Christian Slater.

Photo Credit: FayesVision/WENN.com

Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Entertainment, Entertainment News, Featured, TV, TV News


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Report