‘Game of Thrones’ Competes Against ‘Vampire Diaries’ in the mtvU Awards at Comic-Con

Earlier this month, MTV’s 24-hour college network, mtvU, announced the nominees for the “Fandom of the Year” award, which features 32 honorees spread across four sub genres – Movies, TV Dramas, TV Comedies and Animation – with winners being decided by bracket-style voting. The award will be handed out at the first ever “mtvU Fandom Awards,” which will take place along with the “MTV Fan Fest” on Thursday, July 24 at Petco Park during Comic-Con International: San Diego. MTV and mtvU will premiere the 60-minute “mtvU Fandom Awards Special” on Sunday, July 27 at 8 p.m. ET/PT, celebrating the honorees and showcasing some of the best moments from the show.

“Fandom of the Year” nominees include fans of the biggest blockbuster franchises in entertainment like “Captain America,” “X-Men” and “The Hunger Games,” as well as series with the most passionate fandoms in TV, including “Community,” “Pretty Little Liars,” “Teen Wolf,” “Family Guy,” “Breaking Bad,” “Sherlock” and “The Vampire Diaries.” The full list of all 32 nominees for the “Fandom of the Year” award presented by Jolly Rancher Candies is included below and fans can vote for all of their favorites at FandomAwards.MTV.com.

“The ‘Fandom of the Year’ award is the ultimate celebration of the biggest fandoms in pop culture,” said Ryan Kroft, “mtvU Fandom Awards” Executive Producer. “We’re thrilled to honor more than two dozen fandoms through an innovative bracket unlike anything we’ve seen in another awards show.”

You can still vote for the “Best Fandom Forever” award presented with Tumblr, the home for fandoms. The nominees in that category are “Harry Potter,” “The Lord of the Rings,” “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “Doctor Who,” “Sherlock” and “Batman.” The winner determined by the post with the largest note count. Voting for this award ends today.

“Tumblr fandoms are the most passionate communities of our platform, and I can’t wait to see how they congregate to lift their favorites to the award stage,” said Sima Sistani, Tumblr Director of Media and Entertainment. “Not even I am immune to the Fandom pull. Let me just say, Expelliarmus!”

The Nominees for “Fandom of the Year” are:


  • “The Hunger Games”
  • “Divergent”
  • “The Hobbit”
  • “Veronica Mars”
  • “The Fault in Our Stars”
  • “Captain America: Winter Soldier”
  • “X-Men: Days of Future Past”
  • “Pacific Rim”

TV Dramas

  • “Supernatural”
  • “Teen Wolf”
  • “Game of Thrones”
  • “The Vampire Diaries”
  • “Doctor Who”
  • “Sherlock”
  • “Breaking Bad”
  • “Pretty Little Liars”

TV Comedies

  • “Community”
  • “Parks & Recreation”
  • “New Girl”
  • “Awkward”
  • “How I Met Your Mother”
  • “Glee”
  • “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”
  • “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”


  • “Attack on Titan”
  • “Free! Iwatobi Swim Club”
  • “Archer”
  • “Adventure Time”
  • “South Park”
  • “Naruto”
  • “Blood Lad”
  • “Family Guy”

The Nominees for “Best Fandom Forever” (BFF) presented with Tumblr are:

  • “Harry Potter”
  • “The Lord of the Rings”
  • “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”
  • “Doctor Who”
  • “Sherlock”
  • “Batman”

Some of the celebrities expected to attend for the event include:

  • Channing Tatum (“The Book of Life”)
  • Diego Luna (“The Book of Life”)
  • Chloe Grace (“If I Stay”)
  • Orlando Jones (“Sleepy Hollow”)
  • Retta (“Parks and Recreation”)
  • Dan Harmon (“Community”)
  • Gillian Jacobs (“Community”)
  • Jim Rash (“Community”)
  • Kellan Lutz (“Expendables 3”)
  • Steven Yeun (“Walking Dead”)
  • Jenna Dewan Tatum (“Witches of East End”)
  • Rob Riggle (“Let’s Be Cops”)
  • Molly Tarlov (“Awkward”)
  • Michael Willet (“Faking It”)
  • Nathan Kress (”Into the Storm”)
  • Tyler Oakley, YouTube sensation and MTV’s social media correspondent for the evening

This is probably the only award show ever where Game of Thrones will compete against many of the shows in its category – especially Pretty Little Liars. But either way, we’re super excited to be on location for the event! Be sure to follow us on Twitter (@EmmaLoggins and @FanBolt for live updates and inside look from the press room!)

Photo Credit: HBO


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *