Chris Brown Leads 2014 Soul Train Awards Nominations

Chris Brown will lead the way at the 2014 Soul Train Awards after scoring seven nominations.

The singer is bouncing back from months of legal troubles, which included a prison stint earlier this year after he was kicked out of a court-ordered rehab programme for anger management, and now he has been given a career boost. He will compete for the titles of Song of the Year, Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year, Best Dance Performance and Best Collaboration for his track “Loyal”, featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga.

His “New Flame” duet with Usher is shortlisted for Video of the Year, while he will fight for Best R&B/Soul Male Act against the likes of five-time nominee Pharrell Williams, Trey Songz and John Legend.

Meanwhile, Williams will go head-to-head with Beyonce, who has notched up six nods, for Album of the Year. Other nominees in the coveted category are John Legend, Drake, Janelle Monae and Michael Jackson, whose posthumous release, Xscape, makes the shortlist.

Beyonce and Monae are also in the running for Best R&B/Soul Female Act, alongside Jennifer Hudson and Jhene Aiko.

The 2014 Soul Train Awards, which celebrate the best in black music, will take place in Las Vegas on November 7.

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 – Nominees & Categories

Best New Artist
August Alsina
Jhené Aiko
LiV Warfield
Mack Wilds
Nico & Vinz
Sevyn Streeter

Centric Certified Award
Leela James
Luke James
Robert Glasper

Best Gospel/Inspirational Song
Help – Erica Campbell feat. Lecrae
I Can Only Imagine – Tamela Mann
No Greater Love – Smokie Norful
Real Love – Inspired People feat. Charles Jenkins
Say Yes – Michelle Williams feat. Beyoncé & Kelly Rowland
We Are Victorious – Donnie McClurkin feat. Tye Tribbett

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
Fancy – Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX
Hold On (We’re Going Home) – Drake feat. Majid Jordan
Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga
No Mediocre – T.I. feat. Iggy Azalea
Pills N Potions – Nicki Minaj
Studio – ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ the Chicago Kid

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Janelle Monaé
Jennifer Hudson
Jhené Aiko
Marsha Ambrosius

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Chris Brown
John Legend
Pharrell Williams
Trey Songz

Album of the Year
Beyoncé – Beyoncé
G I R L – Pharrell Williams
Love In The Future – John Legend
Nothing Was The Same – Drake
The Electric Lady – Janelle Monaé
Xscape – Michael Jackson

Song of the Year
All of Me – John Legend
Drunk In Love – Beyoncé feat. Jay Z
Happy – Pharrell Williams
Hold On (We’re Going Home) – Drake feat. Majid Jordan
Love Never Felt So Good – Michael Jackson feat. Justin Timberlake
Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award
All Of Me – John Legend (Toby Gad, John Stephens, Dave Tozer)
Happy – Pharrell Williams (Pharrell Williams)
Pretty Hurts – Beyoncé (Joshua Coleman, Sia Fuller, Beyoncé Knowles)
Stay With Me – Sam Smith (Steve Fitzmaurice, James Napier, William Phillips, Sam Smith)
The Man –Aloe Blacc (Khalil Abdul-Rahman, Sam Barsh, Aloe Blacc, Elton John, Daniel Seeff, Bernie Taupin)
The Worst – Jhené Aiko (Jhené Aiko Chilombo, Mac Robinson, Brian Warfield)

Best Dance Performance
2 On – Tinashe feat. ScHoolboy Q
Electric Lady – Janelle Monáe
Good Kisser – Usher
Loyal – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga
Talk Dirty – Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz
Turn Down for What – DJ Snake & Lil Jon

Best Collaboration
Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga – Loyal
Chris Brown feat. Usher & Rick Ross – New Flame
Janelle Monaé feat. Miguel – Primetime
Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake – Love Never Felt So Good
Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott – Calls
Toni Braxton & Babyface – Hurt You

Video of the Year
Drunk In Love – Beyoncé feat. Jay Z (Hype Williams)
Good Kisser – Usher (Christopher Sims)
Happy – Pharrell Williams (We are from L.A.)
New Flame – Chris Brown feat. Usher (Breezy & Mike Ho)
The Man – Aloe Blacc (Matty Barnes)
The Worst – Jhené Aiko (Danny Williams)

Best International Performance
Davido – Aye
Machel Montano – Ministry Of Road (M.O.R.)
Nico & Vinz – Am I Wrong
Sam Smith – Stay With Me
Shaggy feat. Ne-Yo – You Girl
Ziggy Marley – I Don’t’ Want To Live On Mars

Best Traditional Jazz Performance
Audra McDonald – What a Little Moonlight Can Do
Gregory Porter – Hey Laura
Kenny Garrett – Pushing the World Away
Monty Alexander – Concierto de Aranjuez
Wynton Marsalis – Flee As A Bird To The Mountain (Live)

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance
LiV Warfield- Stay- Soul Lifted
Najee feat. Meli’sa Morgan – In The Mood To Take It Slow
Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott – Calls
Snarky Puppy – Lingus (We Like It Here)
Terrace Martin feat. Robert Glasper – It’s Yours
Vandell Andrew – Let’s Ride

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance
Joe feat. Kelly Rowland – Love & Sex Pt. 2
Kelly Price – It’s My Time
LiV Warfield – Why Do You Lie?
Sebastian Mikael feat. Wale – Last Night
Shaliek – The Past
Terrace Martin feat. TY$, Tone Trezure – You’re The


Photo Credit: Kobby Dagan /


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *