Geeking Out Over TV, Film, Travel, and Tech Since 2002!
Home Entertainment ‘Boyhood’ Scores Four Awards from Los Angeles Film Critics Association
‘Boyhood’ Scores Four Awards from Los Angeles Film Critics Association

‘Boyhood’ Scores Four Awards from Los Angeles Film Critics Association


Boyhood has been in the news a ton recently for winning all the awards, a trend which doesn’t appear to be slowing any time soon. The scored four awards including the Best Picture prize from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LACFA) on Sunday.

The coming-of-age film was the clear favorite from the California critics group, earning not only the top prize, but Best Director for filmmaker Richard Linklater, Best Actress for Patricia Arquette and Best Editing.

The multiple wins came the same day Boyhood scooped Best Picture from the Boston Society of Film Critics and the New York Film Critics Online organizations, as well as the Best International Independent Film at the British Independent Film Awards in London, where Linklater was on hand to receive the accolade.

Tying for two awards apiece was Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel, which won Best Screenplay and Best Production Design, and Polish film Ida, which nabbed Best Foreign Language Film and Best Supporting Actress for its star Agata Kulesza.

Tom Hardy was honored for his role in British drama Locke with the Best Actor trophy, while J.K. Simmons earned Best Supporting Actor for Whiplash.

Radiohead rocker Jonny Greenwood was recognized for his third musical collaboration with director Paul Thomas Anderson for his film Inherent Vice, tying for the Best Music Score with Mica Levi (Under the Skin), while Birdman, which is a top Oscar contender, took home the award for Best Cinematography.

Meanwhile, Best Animation went to Japan’s Tale of the Princess Kaguya, and Citizenfour, which chronicles infamous whistleblower Edward Snowden, landed the Best Documentary award.

Winners will formally receive their prizes during the LAFCA awards dinner in Los Angeles, when veteran actress Gena Rowlands and American film critic Leonard Maltin will receive special lifetime achievement honors.

Photo Credit: IFC Films

Jasmine Alyce Jasmine is the Associate Editor/Reporter for FanBolt. She’s been obsessed with pop culture and entertainment news since the olden days of MTV’s ‘TRL’ and graduated in 2009 with her BA in Journalism. She’s a huge horror and sci-fi/fantasy fan and her favorite shows include: American Horror Story, Game of Thrones, Pretty Little Liars, Doctor Who, Bates Motel, Once Upon A Time and Scandal, to name a few.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *