Walsh & Brenneman Take On Actors Union

PRIVATE PRACTICE co-stars KATE WALSH and AMY BRENNEMAN are aiming to take on a Hollywood union in a bid to prevent a threatened actors strike.

Bosses of the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) are currently in talks with major film and TV studios to secure a new pay deal for actors and thwart possible walkouts which could take place later this summer (08).

Earlier this month (Jul08), union chiefs voted down a proposed three-year contract offered by the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers
(AMPTP) executives – the body representing the major studios and networks.

And the move has angered some SAG members – including Walsh and Brenneman – who insist SAG President Alan Rosenberg should let the organization’s 120,000 members vote on the deal.

The stars have joined a group opposing Rosenberg – dubbed Unite For Strength
– and plan on overriding the union’s current leadership by running for spots on the SAG’s national board. Roughly one third of SAG’s board seats have become available this summer (08) and a ballot is expected in August (08).

The group is also pushing for the SAG to merge with Hollywood’s smaller actors union the American Federation of Radio and Television Artists (AFTRA) – which recently accepted a deal with the AMPTP.

Other actors to join the campaign include The Simpsons regular Marcia Wallace and former Beverly Hills, 90210 star Gabrielle Carteris.

The AMPTP has given SAG chiefs until 15 August (08) to agree a new contract or risk losing wage increases dating back to 1 July (08).



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. WhyWeWatch wrote: From taking a look at the following website: http://www.workingactorsvoice.com

    and looking at the slate of Unite For Strength actors: Michelle Allsopp Adam Arkin Edoardo Ballerini Bob Bergen Amy Brenneman L. Scott Caldwell Gabrielle Carteris William Charlton Assaf Cohen Ashley Crow Tim DeKay Fred Fein Googy Gress Dulé Hill Ken Howard Clyde Kusatsu Matt Letscher John Carroll Lynch Anthony Molinari Pamela Reed Doug Savant Bill Smitrovich Richard Speight, Jr. Mandy Steckelberg Keith Szarabajka Steve Tom Stacey Travis Ned Vaughn Tom Verica Marcia Wallace Kate Walsh

    Only the following actors and actresses have NOT expressed their support for a petition that would disenfranchise most SAG members: Michelle Allsopp, Fred Fein, Anthony Molinari, Pamela Reed