Geeking Out Over TV, Film, Travel, and Tech Since 2002!
Home Featured ‘Fantastic Beasts’ Becomes 5-Part Movie Series
‘Fantastic Beasts’ Becomes 5-Part Movie Series

‘Fantastic Beasts’ Becomes 5-Part Movie Series


J.K. Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them will be a five-part movie series.

The forthcoming ‘Harry Potter’ spin-off was expected to only be a standalone film, but the award-winning writer has now revealed Warner Bros. are developing several installments of the franchise.

A post on the movie’s official Twitter page reads: “@jk_rowling has just confirmed the magic continues in a total of FIVE MOVIES! We can’t wait #FantasticBeasts (sic)”

The 51-year-old author is the screenwriter for each film and has also revealed she is close to completing the script for the second motion picture. In response to a fan’s question on Twitter, she wrote: “I’m the screenwriter. Currently putting the finishing touches to the second one.”

The fantasy movie series stars Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander and sees filmmaker David Yates returning to the director’s chair.

The 34-year-old actor recently admitted he “grilled” Rowling about his character the first time he met her. Redmayne said: “I got to meet J.K. Rowling. I had about three or four months prepping the film, and just about a month I think before we started filming. I was here in Leavesden and J.K. Rowling came and it was this sort of brilliant or slightly odd moment in which David Yates sort of introduced her and I knew that she was only gonna be here for an hour and I think I was sort of like, ‘Hello, nice to meet you!’ And just basically grilled her for an hour. She came to set the other day and I was like, ‘I am so sorry.’ But it was so phenomenal.”

Redmayne stars in Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them with Ezra Miller, Colin Farrell, Ron Perlman and Katherine Waterston among others.

The first movie is slated to be released in November 2016.

Emma Loggins Emma Loggins is the Editor in Chief of FanBolt. As an internationally recognized "Geek Girl", Emma updates daily on the latest entertainment news, her opinions on current happenings in the media, screening/filming opportunities, inside scoops and more.  She’s been writing on the world of geekdom and pop culture since 2002 and is also considered to be one of the top Atlanta bloggers and influencers!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want to see more news like this? Follow us Facebook!