Georgia Film Critics Association Announce 2016 Winners: ‘La La Land’ and ‘Moonlight’ Lead Awards


The Georgia Film Critics Association has announced their 2016 winners, and La La Land and Moonlight are among the biggest winners of the year with the association.

FanBolt is a part of this organization, so we were thrilled to be able to partake in our second year of voting with this group. While critics groups are prevalent in many parts of the country, the GAFCA is the first of its kind to be based solely in the state of Georgia.

We have the full list of winners below!

Georgia Film Critics Association: 2016 Winners

Best Picture – “Moonlight”

Best Director – “La La Land” – Damien Chazelle

Best Actor – Casey Affleck (“Manchester by the Sea”)

Best Actress – Natalie Portman (“Jackie”)

Best Supporting Actor – Mahershala Ali (“Moonlight”)

Best Supporting Actress – Viola Davis (“Fences”)

Best Original Screenplay – “La La Land” – Damien Chazelle

Best Adapted Screenplay – “Moonlight” – Barry Jenkins

Best Cinematography – “Moonlight” – James Laxton

Best Production Design – “La La Land” – David Wasco, Austin Gorg

Best Original Score – “La La Land” – Justin Hurwitz

Best Original Song – “City of Stars” – Justin Hurwitz, Pasek and Paul (“La La Land”)

Best Ensemble – “Moonlight”

Best Foreign Film – “Elle”

Breakthrough Award – Mahershala Ali (“Free State of Jones,” “Hidden Figures,” “Kicks,” “Moonlight”)

Best Animated Film – “Zootopia”

Best Documentary Film – “O.J.: Made in America”

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema – “The Nice Guys” – Shane Black, Anthony Bagarozzi


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *