Whole Damn Mess Album Review: The Queen and The Outcast

Whole Damn Mess

Not familiar with Whole Damn Mess? I wasn’t either until just a few days ago, and as someone who is always traveling with a pair of headphones – I’m always looking for new tunes that stick with me. Hence where this band made its debut for me.

Whole Damn Mess is a brand new project from Don Miggs, but Miggs is no stranger to the music industry. Having formed the alternative rock group MIGGS over 15 years back, the band toured rather extensively with groups like Plain White T’s, Maroon 5, and more – and Whole Damn Mess’ sound fits well with those bands as well. However, with this project, Miggs is telling us a story – an unexpected love story that’s a classic rock-and-roll fairy tale. It’s the rich girl and the bad boy, two archetypes that come together for Miggs to provide inspiration for revealing and autobiographical songs. The story goes even deeper with Miggs realizing during this song writing process that having everything you need doesn’t mean that you should give up on what you’ve always wanted.

“I want this music to be everything to someone, not something to everyone,” Miggs says. “I’d love to show people that no matter what you have, every day can still be the best day of your life. It can be the day that you do something that you’ve never done before. It would be cool if this album gave even one person the hope to dream a little bigger than they have been.”

Albums that have a story behind it always intrigue me a bit more – being able to go on a journey with the artist as you listen to the tracks is a pretty cool experience, and definitely one that Whole Damn Mess’ debut album The Queen and The Outcast offers to fans. It’s an album that while not made for kids, can still make you feel young again at heart – which is something that resonates with everyone, regardless of if you can or can’t identify with the rags to riches reality that is the story that this album tells.

As I mentioned above, these songs fit in with the feel of Maroon 5 quite well, but it also has a bit of an indie feel to it. I’ve included two of my favorite tracks from the new album below (though all 10 songs are equally catchy!) – First “We Don’t Need Reason” which is the leap of faith that any two people take when they fall in love. The lyrics construct a beautiful story, and its one that anyone who has been in love can relate to – yours truly included. And secondly there’s “And Then We Were” which documents the day that Don Miggs got married – every detail of the event – with personal references in every line. It’s a happy a catchy song that just feels so personal and intimate. If you’re married it will likely remind you of your special day – and if you’re not (like me) it put a sparkle in your eye as you think about what that day will look like for you. But these are just 2 out of 10 amazing songs on the new album, which is now out! Take a look at the full track listing below and be sure to check out the album when you have a chance!

And Then We Were

The Queen and the Outcast Track Listing

1) And There They Were

2) We Don’t Need A Reason

3) Be Good To Yourself

4) Anywhere Without You

5) That’s Just How It Goes

6) Maybe We Should Do It

7) Helium

8) Summer Under Covers

9) When She Says

10) Got You Stuck in My Head

Whole Damn Mess’ debut album The Queen and the Outcast is now available!

Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by One2One Network. All opinions are my own.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *