Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2018 Winners in Film with ‘A Star Is Born’ Winning Best Picture

A Star Is Born

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) has released winners for the 2018 GAFCA Awards, and A Star Is Born took the biggest award from the association – Best Picture for 2018.

A Star Is Born also took home awards for Best Supporting Actor for Sam Elliott and Best Original Song for “Shallow.”

Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma won three awards—Best Director, Best Cinematography and Best Foreign Film. The Favourite also took home three awards—Best Supporting Actress (Emma Stone), Best Production Design and Best Ensemble. Eighth Grade received Best Original Screenplay for writer-director Bo Burnham while star Elsie Fisher received the Breakthrough Award. Ryan Coogler’s Black Panther won the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema.

See the complete list of winners below.

Georgia Film Critics Association 2018 Winners

Best Picture
“A Star is Born”

Best Director
“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón

Best Actor
Ethan Hawke (“First Reformed”)

Best Actress
Toni Collette (“Hereditary”)

Best Supporting Actor
Sam Elliott (“A Star is Born”)

Best Supporting Actress
Emma Stone (“The Favourite”)

Best Original Screenplay
“Eighth Grade” – Bo Burnham

Best Adapted Screenplay
“BlacKkKlansman” – Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel & Kevin Willmott

Best Cinematography
“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón

Best Production Design
“The Favourite” – Fiona Crombie, Alice Felton

Best Original Score
“First Man” – Justin Hurwitz

Best Original Song
“Shallow” – Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando, Andrew Wyatt (“A Star is Born”)

Best Ensemble
“The Favourite”

Best Foreign Film

Breakthrough Award
Elsie Fisher (“Eighth Grade”)

Best Animated Film
“Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse”

Best Documentary Film
“Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema
“Black Panther” – Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert Cole

Curious about the Georgia Film Critics Association? The critics group was founded in 2011, with this year marking it’s 8th annual awards program. GAFCA is made up of 32 film critics (including FanBolt’s Editor Emma Loggins) from around the state of Georgia, representing print, television, radio, and online media. For more information on the Georgia Film Critics Association, visit


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *