Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2019 Winners: ‘Parasite’, ‘1917’, and More!


The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) has announced their winners for 2019, and both Parasite and 1917 were among the big winners!

Parasite took home four awards including Best Picture, Best Director for Bong Joon-ho, Best Original Screenplay and Best Foreign Language Film. 1917 received three awards for Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, and Best Original Score.

Other big wins included The Irishman for Best Supporting Actor for Joe Pesci and Best Adapted Screenplay, while Little Women took home Best Supporting Actress for Florence Pugh and Best Ensemble. Pugh also won the Breakthrough Award.

The Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema went to The Peanut Butter Falcon, which also made FanBolt’s Top 10 list for 2019 films. My personal pick for Best Film of 2019 goes to 1917 – which is officinally in wide release today!

I’m honored to be a member of the GAFCA, which was founded in 2011. The GAFCA is made up of 38 film critics from around the state, representing print, television, radio, and online media.

See the complete list of winners below!

2019 Georgia Film Critics Association Winners

Best Picture – “Parasite”
Best Director – “Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho
Best Actor – Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”)
Best Actress – Lupita Nyong’o (“Us”)
Best Supporting Actor – Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”)
Best Supporting Actress – Florence Pugh (“Little Women”)
Best Original Screenplay – “Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won
Best Adapted Screenplay – “The Irishman” – Steven Zaillian
Best Cinematography – “1917” – Roger Deakins
Best Production Design – “1917” – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
Best Original Score – “1917” – Thomas Newman
Best Original Song – “Glasgow (No Place Like Home)” – Caitlin Smith, Mary Steenburgen, Kate York (“Wild Rose”)
Best Ensemble – “Little Women”
Best Foreign Language Film – “Parasite”
Breakthrough Award – Florence Pugh (“Fighting With My Family,” “Little Women,” “Midsommar”)
Best Animated Film – “Toy Story 4”
Best Documentary Film – “Apollo 11”
Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema – “The Peanut Butter Falcon” (Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *