Chris Brown Wins Big at 2014 Soul Train Music Awards

Chris Brown led the way at the 2014 Soul Train Awards on Sunday by taking home three prizes thanks to his hit song “Loyal”.

The embattled singer had a night to remember by winning Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year, Best Dance Performance, and Best Collaboration for his track with Lil Wayne and Tyga.

Brown even kicked off his big night with a medley of some of his greatest hits, including “Yo (Excuse Me Miss)”, “Poppin'”, “Take You Down”, “New Flame”, and award-winning “Loyal”.

Behind Brown with two awards each were Beyonce, who was feted with the Best R&B/Soul Female Artist accolade and Album of the Year for her acclaimed self-titled album, and Pharrell Williams, whose hit “Happy” was named Song of the Year and Video of the Year.

Other winners included Trey Songz (Best R&B/Soul Male Artist), John Legend (Record of the Year/The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award for “All of Me”), and Nico & Vinz (Best New Artist).

Meanwhile, disco band Kool & the Gang were honoured with the Soul Train Lifetime Achievement Award, and artists such as Doug E. Fresh, Elle Varner, MC Lyte, Tamar Braxton, Joe, and Mase took to the stage to perform songs from the group’s catalogue spanning 50 years in the business.

However, the highlights of the night came from R&B group Jodeci, who reunited for the first time since 2006 and sang a medley of their hit songs, while Lil Kim, Missy Elliot and Da Brat closed out the ceremony with their 1997 track “Not Tonight”, with a special segment devoted their late collaborator Lisa ‘Left Eye’ Lopes.

The TLC star, who died in 2002, was featured in a video performing her part in the song which was projected onto a big screen during the rendition.

Talk show hose Wendy Williams hosted the event at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. The awards were handed out on November 7th, but was televised on Sunday.

You can read the complete list of winners below!

Best New Artist
Nico & Vinz

Centric Certified Award
Leela James

Best Gospel/Inspirational Song
“Help” (Erica Campbell featuring Lecrae)

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
“Loyal” (Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne & Tyga)

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Trey Songz

Album of the Year

Song of the Year
“Happy” (Pharrell Williams)

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“All of Me” — John Legend (Toby Gad, John Stephens, Dave Tozer)

Best Dance Performance
“Loyal” (Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne & Tyga)

Best Collaboration
Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne & Tyga — “Loyal”

Video of the Year
“Happy” — Pharrell Williams (We are from L.A.)

Best Traditional Jazz Performance
Wynton Marsalis — “Flee as A Bird to the Mountain (Live)”

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance
Liv Warfield — “Stay”/”Soul Lifted”

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance
Joe featuring Kelly Rowland — “Love & Sex Pt. 2”

Photo Credit:Helga Esteb /


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *