Geeking Out Over TV, Film, Travel, and Tech Since 2002!
Home TV Reality Competition Hosts To Be Honored At 2008 Emmys
Reality Competition Hosts To Be Honored At 2008 Emmys

Reality Competition Hosts To Be Honored At 2008 Emmys


AMERICAN IDOL host RYAN SEACREST and supermodel HEIDI KLUM have picked up their first Emmy nominations, after the 2008 Primetime TV Awards introduced the category of top host for a reality competition show.

The Project Runway presenter and Seacrest will go up against Dancing With the Stars’ Tom Bergeron, as well as Deal or No Deal’s Howie Mandel and Survivor’s Jeff Probst to take home the first honor. Mad Men is leading the nominations after picking up 16 nods, the most nominations of any drama series, including Best Dramatic Series and Best Actor for its lead, Jon Hamm.

Hamm will face actors Hugh Laurie, for House; Michael C. Hall, for Dexter; Gabriel Byrne, for In Treatment; Bryan Cranston, for Breaking Bad; and James Spader, for Boston Legal.

Meanwhile, 30 Rock was the frontrunner in the comedy category, with 17 nominations, including best series – a gong the show took home last year – and leading actor, Alec Baldwin, and actress for Tina Fey, the show’s creator.

The winners for the 60th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be unveiled on 21 September (08) at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles.

A list of nominees is as follows:

Best Series, Drama:
Boston Legal
Mad Men

Best Series, Comedy:
30 Rock
Curb Your Enthusiasm
The Office
Two And A Half Men

Best Actor, Drama:
James Spader – Boston Legal
Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad
Michael C. Hall – Dexter
Hugh Laurie – House
Gabriel Byrne – In Treatment
Jon Hamm – Mad Men

Best Actor, Comedy:
Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock
Tony Shalhoub – Monk
Lee Pace – Pushing Daisies
Steve Carell – The Office
Charlie Sheen – Two And A Half Men

Best Actress, Drama:
Sally Field – Brothers & Sisters
Glenn Close – Damages
Mariska Hargitay – Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
Holly Hunter – Saving Grace
Kyra Sedgwick – The Closer

Best Actress, Comedy:
Tina Fey – 30 Rock
Christina Applegate – Samantha Who?
Julia Louis-Dreyfus – The New Adventures Of Old Christine
America Ferrera – Ugly Betty
Mary-Louise Parker – Weeds

Best Supporting Actor, Drama Series:
William Shatner – Boston Legal
Ted Danson – Damages
Zeljko Ivanek – Damages
Michael Emerson – Lost
John Slattery – Mad Men

Best Supporting Actor, Comedy Series:
Jeremy Piven – Entourage
Kevin Dillon – Entourage
Neil Patrick Harris – How I Met Your Mother
Rainn Wilson – The Office
Jon Cryer – Two And A Half Men

Best Supporting Actress, Drama Series:
Candice Bergen – Boston Legal
Rachel Griffiths – Brothers & Sisters
Chandra Wilson – Grey’s Anatomy
Sandra Oh – Grey’s Anatomy
Dianne Wiest – In Treatment

Best Supporting Actress, Comedy Series:
Kristin Chenoweth – Pushing Daisies
Jean Smart – Samantha Who?
Amy Poehler – Saturday Night Live
Holland Taylor – Two And A Half Men
Vanessa Williams – Ugly Betty

Outstanding Reality Competition Program:
American Idol
Dancing With The Stars
Project Runway
The Amazing Race
Top Chef

Outstanding Host For A Reality Or Reality Competition Program:
Ryan Seacrest – American Idol
Tom Bergeron – Dancing With The Stars
Howie Mandel – Deal Or No Deal
Heidi Klum – Project Runway
Jeff Probst – Survivor



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want to see more news like this? Follow us Facebook!