The Outlander Prequel: 5 Important Details Fans Need To Know About the New Series

Outlander Season 7

Fans of the hit show Outlander can’t contain their excitement after the announcement that an Outlander prequel series is officially in the works. Starz will capitalize on the popularity of the time traveling period drama with the prequel, Blood of My Blood.

But what will the next show based on the universe created by author Diana Gabaldon be about? And who is involved in the creation of the show?

Let’s take a look at 5 details fans need to know about the upcoming Outlander prequel.

Outlander Season 6

1. Blood of My Blood Will Tell the Story of Jamie Fraser’s Parents

If you ever wanted to learn more about Jamie Fraser’s family, Blood of My Blood will answer your questions. The series will focus on the love story of Ellen MacKenzie and Brian Fraser.

Kathryn Busby, President of Original Programming at Starz, said “Outlander is a riveting show that from season to season has captured the hearts of its fans around the world. We are excited to peel back the layers of this vibrant world to bring our audience the origin of where it all began…We can’t wait to see what happens next.”

2. The Creators of the Outlander Series Will Spearhead the Prequel

If you were concerned that Blood of My Blood would depart in tone from the show we know and love, don’t worry. Many big names of the original creators and crew are slated to head the prequel.

Matthew B. Roberts will write Blood of My Blood. And once the show has a script, he’ll act as showrunner and executive producer. That is the same role he currently holds for Outlander. Maril Davis will also serve as an executive producer. And so will Ronald D. Moore, who helped develop Outlander from a book to a show.

Outlander Season 6

3. Diana Gabaldon Still Doesn’t Know How She’ll Be Involved

According to the announcement, Diana Gabaldon, the author of the Outlander book series, will act as a consulting producer. However, Gabaldon herself said on Facebook that she has yet to be contacted about the show.

“Well….THIS is interesting…Note that I have no idea what a ‘Consulting Producer’ is, and no one has talked to me about being one. This doesn’t mean that I won’t be involved with the show, but I have no details at the moment. Yes, I am writing Brian and Ellen’s story. I have no idea what the timing of the show might be, or to what extent the show-runners plan to use the book (insofar as it exists by that point). ‘In development’ is not the same thing as being green-lit; it just means they’re starting to put together pieces. I’m just mentioning it here because Starz announced it today on Twitter and Facebook, so figured everyone would be wanting to know about it.” Gabaldon comments.

Yikes. We have to admit, this news has us a bit concerned. You can’t do justice to the story of Jamie Fraser’s parents without significant involvement from Gabaldon, at least not in our book (pun intended).

Diana Gabaldon
Photo Credit: DFree

4. Diana Gabaldon Is Writing a Prequel Novel

Whatever the producers have in mind for Gabaldon’s involvement, they’d better get her on board fast. Not only does no one know the Outlander universe better than its creator,  but she’s currently writing a prequel novel as well.

We learned back in February that she had begun penning the story of Ellen MacKenzie and Brian Fraser. Now it’s confirmed that we’ll get the television adaptation as well. Fans of both the books and the TV series will enjoy both iterations of the original Fraser love story.

Hopefully, they get her on board soon. Otherwise we might get two wildly different stories. And that means canon will get complicated.

Unfortunately for fans of Claire and Jamie’s story, Gabaldon is working on the last of the novels on their relationship. Back in February, she said of the installment, “This novel may be the last book in my series of major novels focusing on the story of Jamie and Claire. It will take me a few years to write this book and do the research for it.”

So not only will it likely be the last, we’ll have to wait a while as well. But at the same time, she promised that it wouldn’t be the last of Outlander novels. She added, “I have a few other ideas for projects after Book X is off to the publisher, including a prequel featuring Jamie’s parents and a book about Master Raymond. Stay tuned!”

So maybe someday we’ll get a spin-off on Master Raymond’s story?

Outlander Season 6

5. The Prequel Doesn’t Necessarily Mean Outlander Is Ending

This is an important detail. After the initial excitement that they will get a brand new expansion to the Outlander story, some fans grew understandably anxious. If we’re getting a prequel, does that mean Outlander is ending?

Matthew B. Roberts, showrunner and executive producer of both shows, tweeted in an effort to calm fans. All he wrote was, “A beginning doesn’t mean an ending…”

While that’s a far cry from a concrete answer, it does instill some hope in us. Maybe that means we’ll get as many Outlander seasons as books. With any luck, we’ll have 10 seasons to match the 10 books Gabaldon plans to write for the series.

Are you excited for Blood of My Blood? Sound off with your thoughts on the upcoming Outlander prequel in the comment section below!

Responses

Your email address will not be published.